Chris Cutler

Emblematic drumer of the meeting of rock, improvisation & contemporary music, Chris Cutler, often associated with Fred Frith, answers a few questions of Patrice Boyer. A very fine & rare interview.

Chris, I read your biography on your website and I'm very impressed by the number of collaborations with musicians as well European as American.  How do you manage all these projects?

There are not so many musicians in our area of work and over time we all get to know one another. There are certain festivals and venues – all in different parts of the world – where we tend to meet and these become, in a way, extraterritorial zones. These, and recordings, which are also non-geographical, form our ‘community’, so it’s inevitable that we end up working together. If I am making a record, I will ask the people I need, not the ones who live in my town. It’s the same with a performing project. We all have to fly to somewhere for the concert anyway, so if one comes from Tokyo and another from Paris, what’s the difference ? Of course it’s a little more complex and expensive to work this way, but – if I need Jon Rose I need Jon Rose, not anyone else. And that’s how it works.

You had an important historical role for innovating musics, first of all as a founder member of Henry Cow, then Art Bears, and in parallel by selting the network « Rock in Opposition »  (Art Zoyd, Art Bears, Univers Zero, Zamla Mammas Manna, Stormy Six, Von Zamla, This Heat, The Work... and others one which played in Charleville-Mézières), and the label RecommendedRecords. What do you think about the "revival" of this music, which results the reformation of emblematic groups from the 70'/80' (Magma, Univers Zero, Hatfield and the North, Zamla...)  guests in France at the time of an annual Festival ("Les Tritonnales").

There are two kinds of revivals going on, I think. One is, as you describe, groups from the ‘60s and ‘70s reforming, mostly to play their old music. My feeling about this is, OK why not - although it is not something that I would ever want to do. And I know I can say the same for the other members of Henry Cow, we have all continued to explore the possibilities of music; none of us returned to our past. Therefore, in my case, Cassiber, p53, Twice Around the Earth, Domestic Stories, the solo electronic project, and so on. It’s the needs and possibilities of the present that interest me, rather than the old repertoire. But I accept that this issue is not that simple, I can only state my own feelings.

The second revival is the current popularity of ‘prog’ and what Americans call ‘RIO’ music which is populated not so much by old, reformed bands but new ones, especially in the USA. Again, why not - so long as no one thinks that this is in any way innovative or ‘progressive’. As a copy of music that is already 40 years old, it’s really a form of nostalgia. Such revivals do not address the problems of their own time but adopt the ideas and solutions of the past, solutions indeed to problems that no longer exist.In a way I see parallels with world music. Rather than solve or own problems of cultural discourse we try to colonise other people’s solutions – making them meaningless in the process.

A kind of white wire in your career, it is your complicity with Fred Frith. Do you always have the faculty to astonish each others ?

I don’t know about astonish, but surprise, certainly. We have worked together, on and off, for 35 years now –  as a duo for more than 30. So when we meet to play – a few times at least each year – of course much has happened to us both in the meantime, and we have a lot to say, musically, that’s new. And because we also share, very broadly, a quite sophisticated common language – created and learned together in the intense years of Henry Cow – there is a deep grammar that makes the new vocabulary each brings more surprising in its complex relation to the past.

There's two years ago, we produced a concert which was a kind of tribute to Robert Wyatt (I know  he don't like this word), with musicians with whom you often played (John Greaves and Karen Mantler, and others from French jazz & innovating musics : Dominique Pifarély, Sylvain Kassap, Jacques Mahieux). Could you tell us what is Robert Wyatt for you ?

 Robert was one of the last drummers whose style influenced mine. Exceptionally musical, he was both  tuneful and loose - a rare combination for a rock drummer. He was a master of percussion melody, and always surprising, seeming to belong somewhere between Motown, and the best of Rock, but with a flexibility usually associated with Jazz. And as a composer and singer; Moon in June was a model of how to expand the song form without making it collapse. I think one of Robert’s great gifts is a very complex form of simplicity. I admire his political consistency.

In your work we can find two different ways : improvised instrumental music (which made you meet an impressing number of musicians all around the world) and the"rock'n'roll" songs.  I know your interest for the texts (Art Bears, and your collaboration with David Thomas, Peter Blegvad), with bridges between these two words. Could you tell us more about it

 I have always tried to work with all the different kinds of music making that interest me, both as a performer and as a composer. Improvisation is indispensable because it is so direct – it demands a state of receptivity and reflex that is unique - first there is nothing, and out of nothing comes something. It is a creative discipline that sharpens every faculty and invokes new ideas and techniques, since it taps a very deep part of being, below consciousness and very much related to physical memory (muscular sequences and organic reflex). Composed music on the other hand, places intellect ahead of response, allowing the calculator and critic in us to plan and orchestrate resources  free of the constraints of unfolding time. It also frees musical possibility from both the body and from habit, underwriting the emergence of structural forms that could never emerge out of individual or collective practice. Rock or dance music, on the other hand, operates somewhere between soma and psyche, celebrating the body but organising itself through discipline and a special kind of structural and semantic order. Songs are another form altogether, since they are neither music nor text but a hybrid with many subtle and productive possible inter-relationships. It’s why I have returned again and again to song form throughout my working life. Work with words calls for a particular sensibility that links semantics and phonetics and to fuse this with the complex language of musical discourse calls for highly specific synaesthetictechniques. You cannot conflate these different ways of music making; they are all like different languages. And they inform and nourish one another. In the global village, being a cultural polyglot seems natural.

Which are the French musicians with whom you regularly worked?

A few only. I have worked with Jean Marc Montera and Helene Breschand - in various combinations, and we are all in the European Improvisers Ensemble together. I have also done several projects with Xavier Garcia, including the larger ‘Virtual and Reel Meeting projects, which are still current.

The way you play drums is very original, with a part which come from rock and another part from contemporary percussion. I don¹t hear a lot of jazz. Which are the drummers and the musicians wich influenced you ?

This is a very broad question. When I was young I listened voraciously to all sorts of music, and I was influenced by a lot of different styles. As for drums, certainly Tony Meehan when I was learning, then Keith Moon, Mitch Mitchell, John French, Robert Wyatt and Christian Vander. But I also absorbed, en route, much from the Motown drummers, Sun Ra’s drummers, Elvin Jones and certainly Edgard Varese’s use of percussion, as well as Karlheinz Stockhausen’s ‘Mikrophonie I’, which was a strong  subliminal influence on my electrification of the kit - though it was the example of Fred Frith and his approach to the electric guitar that was the more immediate influence there.

What are your current projects?

I am working slowly on a new song project, I still play concerts with Fred Frith, Peter Blegvad and Pere Ubu. Also with The European improvisers Ensemble (playing Graphic Scores). I am currently working on a p53 project with the BBC Scottish Orchestra with conductor Ilan Volkov and a new version of my Timescales for calculated pulses. And of course the programme of solo concerts goes on. Right now I’m in a studio in the Pyrenees finishing a new 50-minute radio piece for Deutschland Radio. It looks possible that next year in Paris I will participate in a group with Hugh Hopper, Patrice Meyer and Francois Verly working on material from the Mahavishnu Orchestra Birds of Fire period. Otherwise I work on a new book of theoretical essays and am in the middle of assembling a definitive This Heat box set for ReR.

Interview by Patrice Boyer

www.ccutler.com

Chris Cutler

Batteur et percussionniste emblématique du mariage de l'improvisation, du rock et de la musique contemporaine, Chris Cutler, souvent associé au guitariste Fred Frith depuis les années 70, répond aux questions de Patrice Boyer pour Macao.fr. Une interview rarissime.

Chris, quand on lit ta biographie sur ton site, on est subjugué par le nombre impressionnant de collaborations avec des musiciens tant européens qu’américains. Comment gères-tu tous ces projets ?

Il n’y a pas beaucoup de musiciens dans notre domaine, et avec le temps nous finissons par tous nous connaïtre. Il y a des festivals, des rendez-vous – dans différentes regions du monde – où nous nous rencontrons et qui finissent par devenir des zones “extraterritoriales”. Ces lieux, ainsi que les enregistrements, qui sont également non-géographiques, forment une communauté. Il est donc inévitable que nous finissions par travailler ensemble. Si j’enregistre un disque, je m’adresserai aux gens dont j’ai besoin, pas seulement ceux de ma ville. C’est la même chose pour la scène. Nous devons nous rendre quelque part dans le monde, si l’un de nous vient de Tokyo et un autre de Paris, quelle différence cela peut-il faire ? Evidemment c’est un peu plus difficile et plus cher de travailler de cette façon, mais si j’ai besoin de Jon Rose, j’ai besoin de Jon Rose, pas de quelqu’un d’autre. C’est comme cela que ça fonctionne.

Tu as joué un rôle historique très important  pour les musiques innovantes tout d’abord en tant que membre fondateur de Henry Cow, puis Art Bears, et parallèlement en fondant le réseau « Rock in Opposition » (Art Zoyd, Art Bears, Univers Zero, Zamla Mammas Manna, Stormy Six, Von Zamla, This Heat, The Work… et d’autres on fait étape à Charleville-Mézières), et le label Recommended Records. Que penses-tu du « revival » de cette musique, qui se traduit par la reformation de groupes emblématiques des années 70/80 (Magma, Univers Zéro, Hatfield and the North, Zamla…) invités en France lors d’un Festival annuel (Les Tritonnales).

Il y a deux sortes de “revivals”, je crois. Le premier, que tu décris, est le fait de groupes des années 60 et 70 qui se reforment, la plupart du temps pour jouer leur ancienne musique. Mon sentiment à ce propos est : “ok, pourquoi pas ?”, mais c’est quelque chose je ne voudrai jamais faire. Et je sais pouvoir parler au nom des autres membres d’Henry Cow, nous avons tous continué à explorer les possibilités musicales; pas un seul d’entre nous ne s’est retourné vers le passé. Par conséquent, dans mon cas : “Cassiber”, ”p53”, “Twice Around the Earth”, “Domestic Stories”, le projet électronique en solo… et voilà. Ce sont les besoins et les possibilités du present qui m’intéressent, davantage que le vieux répertoire. Mais je sais que cette façon d’envisager les choses n’est pas évidente, je peux seulement parler de mes sentiments personnels.

Le second revival est l’actuel succés du progressif, que les américains appellent “RIO”, qui n’est pas tellement popularisé par d’anciens groupes reformés, mais par de nouveaux, spécialement aux États-Unis. De nouveau, pourquoi pas ? – tant que personne ne considère que cela est en aucune façon innovant ou “progressif”. La copie d’une musique qui a déjà 40 ans est vraiment une forme de nostalgie.

De tels revivals ne répondent pas aux questions de leur temps, mais adoptent les idées et les solutions du passé, qui répondent à des problèmes qui n’existent plus. J’y vois un parallèle avec la world music. Au lieu de résoudre les problèmes de nos propres discours culturels, nous colonisons les solutions d’autres peuples, leur faisant perdre tout sens dans ce processus.

Une sorte de fil blanc dans ta carrière, c’est ta complicité avec Fred Frith. Avez-vous toujours la faculté de vous étonner l’un l’autre ?

L’étonnement, je ne sais pas, mais de la surprise c’est certain. Nous travaillons ensemble depuis trente-cinq ans maintenant, en duo depuis plus de trente ans. Quand nous nous rencontrons pour jouer – plusieurs fois par an – naturellement beaucoup de choses nous sont arrivées entre temps, et nous avons beaucoup à dire, musicalement. Et parce que nous partageons très largement un langage assez sophistiqué – créé et appris ensemble durant l’intense période de Henry Cow – il y a une riche grammaire qui permet au nouveau vocabulaire que chacun apporte de surprendre dans cette relation complexe avec le passé.

Nous avons produit en 2003 à Charleville-Mézières un concert qui était une sorte d’hommage à Robert Wyatt ( je sais qu’il n’aime pas cette formulation) , associant des musiciens avec qui tu as souvent joué ( John Greaves et Karen Mantler, et d’autres issus de la scène jazz/musique improvisée française. (Dominique Pifarély, Sylvain Kassap, Jacques Mahieux) Peux-tu nous dire ce que représente Robert Wyatt pour toi ?

Robert est l’un des derniers batteurs dont le style a influencé le mien. Exceptionnellement musical, il était à la fois hamonieux et délié – une combinaison rare pour un batteur de rock. C’était un maître des mélodies avec les percussions, il semblait appartenir à un univers situé quelque part entre La Motown et le meilleur du rock, mais avec une flexibilité habituellement liée au jazz. En tant que compositeur et chanteur, “Moon in June” fût un modèle sur la manière de developer la forme des chansons sans la détruire. Je pense qu’un des grands cadeaux de Robert est une forme très complexe de simplicité. J’admire sa constance politique.

Dans ton œuvre, on peut définir deux axes de travail : la musique instrumentale souvent  improvisée, qui t’a fait rencontrer un nombre impressionnant de musiciens de part le monde) et la chanson « rock » . On connaît ton intérêt pour les textes. (Art Bears, et collaboration avec David Thomas, Peter Blegvad entre autres) avec bien sûr des ponts entre ces genres.  Peux-tu développer ces deux axes ?

J’ai toujours essayé de travailler avec l’ensemble des diférentes musiques qui m’intéressaient, à la fois comme interprète et comme compositeur. L’improvisation est indispensable car c’est si direct – cela demande un état de réceptivité et de réactivité qui est unique – au départ il n’y a rien et de ce rien naît quelque chose. C’est une discipline creative qui mobilise toutes nos facultés et provoque de nouvelles idées et techniques, et fait appel à une part très profonde de l’être avant la conscience, très reliée à la mémoire physique (d’ordre musculaire et organique). D’un côté, la musique écrite place l’intellect devant une réponse autorisant notre raison et notre sens critique à planifier et à orchestrer, détaché des contraintes du temps de réponse. Il libère également la musique du corps et de l'habitude, garantissant l'apparition de formes qui pourraient ne jamais émerger hors de la pratique individuelle ou collective. D’un autre côté, le rock ou la musique de danse, opèrent quelque part entre le soma et la psyche, celebrant le corps, mais s'organisant par la discipline et par une sorte d'ordre structural et sémantique. Les chansons sont une toute autre forme, puisqu'elles ne sont ni musique, ni texte, mais un hybride avec beaucoup de corrélations possibles, subtiles et productives. C’est pourquoi je suis régulièrement revenu aux chansons tout au long de ma carrière. Travailler avec les mots demande une sensibilité particulière qui relie la sémantique et la phonétique, pour fondre ceci dans le langage musical. Tu ne peux pas combiner ces différentes manières de fabriquer de la musique; elles sont toutes comme différentes langues, qui s’informent et se nourrissent l’une et l’autre. Dans le village global, être un polyglote culturel me semble normal.

Quels sont les musiciens français avec qui tu as régulièrement travaillé ?

Quelques-uns seulement. J’ai travaillé avec Jean-Marc Montera et Hélène Breschand – dans différents cadres, et nous jouons ensemble dans le "European Improviser Ensemble". J’ai aussi travaillé sur plusieurs projets avec Xavier Garcia, notamment dans “Virtual & Reel Meeting Project” qui est toujours d’actualité.

Ta conception de la batterie est assez unique, avec des éléments issus du rock, et d’autres plus proches de la percussion contemporaine. Je n’y décèle pas beaucoup de références au jazz. Quels sont les batteurs et percussionnistes qui t’ont marqué ?

C’est une vaste question. Quand j’étais jeune, j’ai écouté avec voracité toute sorte de musiques, et j’ai été influencé par des choses très différentes. Pour la batterie, Tony Meehan m’a certainement influencé, puis Keith Moon, Mitch Mitchell, John French, Robert Wyatt et Christian Vander. Mais,  j’ai également reçu beaucoup des batteurs de la Motown, ceux de Sun Ra, Elvin Jones et certainement l’usage de la percussion de Edgard Varese, ainsi que “Mikrophonie”  de Stokhausen, qui a exercé une influence subliminale dans l’électrification de mon kit – cependant l’influence de Fred Frith et de son approche de la guitare électrique était la plus immediate.

Quels sont tes projets actuels ?

Je travaille lentement sur un nouveau projet de chanson et je fais toujours des concerts avec Fred Frith, Peter Blegvad et Pere Ubu. Ainsi qu’avec le European Improviser Ensemble.  Je suis aussi actuellement sur un projet"p53", avec l'orchestre écossais de la BBC avec le chef Ilan Volkov et une nouvelle version de “Timescales for calculated pulses". Et naturellement je continue les concerts en solo. En ce moment, je travaille dans un studio des Pyrénées finissant une nouvelle pièce de cinquante minutes pour la Deutschland Radio. Il semble possible que l'année prochaine à Paris je participe à un groupe avec Hugh Hopper, Patrice Meyer et Francois Verly, autour du Mahavishnu Orchestra période “Birds of Fire”.  Autrement, je travaille également à un nouveau recueil d’essais théoriques et suis à la moitié de l’assemblage de “This Heat Box Set” pour ReR.

Propos recueillis par Patrice Boyer

www.ccutler.com