Jazz in Portugal I :

Pedro Costa, Clean Feed Records.

First part of our Portuguese trip : Isabel Viegas asks a few very interesting questions to Pedro Costa, director of Clean Feed Records...

Trem Azul, in its four fields of activity, has made a remarkable path, a growth that unfolds a great deal of work, was it hard to arrive until here?

No, it was a gradual and very natural growth. It is obvious that it gave and gives a lot of work but it wasn’t difficult.

What made you create Trem Azul in 2001? How did emerged the idea, the opportunity ?

We felt that there was space for a project like this. When I say this I don’t mean that there were space in Portugal, what I mean is there was a global space to appear a record company with our characteristics. Always was part of our idea to create a contemporary jazz label with the presence of foreign musicians, that is, to operate in a global scale. Like it doesn’t make any sense to have a label and not make the distribution, direct sell and bring here the artists, the cycle closed itself. But not completely there’s still margin to one day open the Trem Azul Jazz Club.

How did Cleen Feed born, grew up and became the success that it is today?

It was born in 2001 with the idea of occupying the open space of a record label operating internationally like no other, gathering musicians from different places, associated with exemplar graphics. Portugal, contrarily to what it might look, is the ideal place for an extensive label like Clean Feed. From here you can appreciate what’s happening in New York, Chicago, Stockholm, Oslo, Paris, Brussels, Vienne, etc. A record Label settled in a town / city where the jazz circuit is not so developed allow us to see better what’s happening around the world. We are not blind to what’s happening here and we are paying attention to what’s happening outside.

In your Web site you speak about Trem Azul Distribution like the mother of the enterprise, what is it exactly, how does it work?

That was before ! At one point it was the distribution that supported the edition. In our days with the economic crisis installed the record sales lost its strength and distribution represents a lot less in our enterprise that it did a few years ago.

You make the Thursdays of Jazz in the Belém Cultural Centre ; do you consider it a success? How does the public react ?

The Thursdays of Jazz are a success for the acceptance of the public, we have a full house every week, and our public has improved in quality every year. The groups that we propose are not the most mainstream, but our public knows what to aspect, they listen and understand the meaning of things. I can say that this cycle success allow us to present a more contemporary program within what we defend like vital music inside jazz and improvisation.

Who is your public ? Not only in the Belém Cultural Centre but in all concerts you organize.

It’s a sensible public, interested in the sound of surprise, like one day somebody wisely called jazz.

Do you think that in Portugal jazz is still mystified? I mean, do you think that it’s still destined to small elites and not to the general public? Does it exist a Jazz Tradition, so to speak...

One of my struggles thought the years has been and still is to transcend that mystification. To me it makes no sense to look at jazz like an elitist music, jazz is a music open to everyone that as a open mind, open spirit. I look at jazz like intervention music and, because of that, linked with the times we live on. In our country exists a strong musical tradition. People like music and look for new things incessantly. They like to know new things.

How do you characterize the jazz panorama in Portugal?

Jazz in Portugal as known a remarkable evolution. In our days there are many schools of and with jazz, plenty of musicians better prepared than some years ago and a public interested to listen to them. When I say some years ago, I’m talking about 10 / 15 years ago, I don’t mean 30 or 40 years ago. Things have changed substantially in the last few years and if all goes well they’ll keep changing.

Is there any politic support to the diffusion and education of jazz ?

No. But there are many people in this circuit that contribute in one way or another for the diffusion of jazz in Portugal. We have an excellent specialized magazine, jazz.pt, several record labels that put in the market jazz and improvised music (Clean Feed, Creative Sources and Tone of a Pitch), and a lot of jazz festivals, some of them of the most interesting in the world (Jazz em Agosto) and we still have space in the national news papers.

Does Trem Azul receive any subvention? From the Ministry of Culture or other ?

Nothing.

In Portugal there are several festivals spread thought out the country and also small events punctually organized, which one would you recommend the international public to visit? Which one among all haves the best program ?

The Jazz em Agosto from the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in Lisbon is a must stop in the international jazz panorama. After there are others festivals with a excellent level, Braga Jazz; Seixal Jazz; Jazz ao Centro, in Coimbra, Portalegre, Guimarães...

In your opinion, what is the contribution of the Hot Club Portugal to the Portuguese jazz panorama ?

The Hot Club has two activities, the club and the school. The Club has a essential role, it is one of the few places where you can ear jazz every week, with a diverse programming. The school has been losing way with the appearance of others schools more dynamic, it’s a shame because it can even lead to the closing of the most historical jazz school of the country.

Which are the Portuguese young musicians that you would point out ?

In the last few years have been appearing several jazz musicians, some studying in Portugal (ESMAE of Porto makes a remarkable work) and others studying abroad, first there was an obsession for the Americans schools (New School and Berklee) but now seems like it disappeared and the Europeans Schools (Brussels, Amsterdam and Specially Rotterdam) have gain weight and in our days form a great number of very interesting musicians: João Lobo; Gonçalo Almeida; Dezidério Lázaro, Júlio Resende, João Firmino, João Hasselberg, Luís Candeias, António Quintino, José Pedro Coelho, João Guimarães, Luís Figueiredo, are some of the musicians who promise to turn the Portuguese jazz around.

Who are the biggest Portuguese Jazz musicians ?

The giants of the Portuguese jazz are Bernardo Sassetti, Mário Laginha, Carlos Barretto, João Paulo Esteves, Maria João, Carlos Martins, Carlos Bica and more recently André Fernandes, Júlio Resende, Nelson Cascais.

Interview by Isabel Viegas (june 2009)

www.cleanfeed-records.com

português f français

Jazz au Portugal I :

Pedro Costa, Clean Feed Records.

Pour ce premier volet de notre exploration du jazz portugais, Isabel Viegas interroge Pedro Costa, le directeur de Clean Feed / Trem Azulqui associe un label, un distributeur, un magasin de disque et plusieurs festivals de par le monde.

Trem Azul, dans ses quatre domaines d’activités, a eu un parcours remarquable et une croissance qui implique une grande part de travail, était-ce difficile d’en arriver là ?

Non, cela a été une croissance graduelle et naturelle. Il est évident que cela demande beaucoup de travail, mais ce n’était pas difficile.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé à créer Trem Azul en 2001 ? Comment est née l’idée, l’opportunité ?

Nous avons senti qu’il y avait de la place pour un projet comme celui-ci. Quand je dis cela, je ne parle pas seulement du Portugal, ce que je veux dire est qu’il y avait de l’espace pour qu’une entreprise telle que la notre apparaissent. L’idée de créer un label de jazz contemporain avec des musiciens étrangers a toujours fait partie de notre projet, en ayant pour objectif d’opérer à une échelle globale. Partant du principe que d’avoir un label sans distribution ne veux rien dire, la vente directe et le fait d’amener ici les artistes ferme la boucle. Mais pas complètement, car il y a encore de la marge avant d’ouvrir un jour le Trem Azul Jazz Club.

Comment Clean Feed est né et a grandi ?

Clean Feed est né en 2001 dans l’idée d’occuper un espace ouvert avec un label opérant internationalement comme aucun autre, en allant chercher des musiciens provenant de partout dans le monde, associé à un travail sur le graphisme. Le Portugal, contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire est le pays idéal pour un label de ce type. D’ici, on peux apprécier ce qui se passe à New York, Chicago, Stockholm, Oslo, Paris, Brussels, Vienne, etc. Un label basé dans une ville, un pays où le jazz n’est pas très développé nous autorise à nous intéresser ce qui se passe à l’extérieur.

Dans votre site web vous parlez de Trem Azul Distribution comme la mère de l’entreprise, qu’en est-il exactement, comment cela fonctionne t’il ?

C’était autrefois ! À un moment, la distribution aidait l’édition. Actuellement, avec la crise économique et celle du disque, la baisse record du chiffre des ventes, la distribution représente beaucoup moins dans notre entreprise.

Vous organisez les Vendredis du Jazz au Centre Culturel Belèm. Considérez-vous cela comme un succès ? Comment réagit le public ?

Les Vendredis du Jazz sont un succès pour l’accueil que leurs fait le public, nous avons une salle pleine chaque semaine, et notre public s’améliore chaque année. Les groupes que nous proposons ne sont pas des plus mainstream, mais les gens le savent, ils écoutent et comprennent le sens des choses. Je peux dire que le succès de ce cycle nous permet de présenter des programmes plus contemporains, des choses vitales dans ce que nous défendons dans le jazz et l’improvisation.

Quel est votre public ? Pas seulement en ce qui concerne le Centre Culturel Belèm, mais l’ensemble des concerts que vous organisez.

C’est un public sensible, intéressé par le son de la surprise, ce que quelqu’un a un jour appelé jazz.

Pensez-vous que le jazz est toujours mystifié au Portugal ? Pensez-vous qu’il est encore destiné à une petite élite et pas au grand public ?

Un de mes combats ces dernières années a été, est toujours, de dépasser les mystifications. Pour ma part, il est absurde de considérer le jazz comme une musique élitiste, elle est destinée à toue personne dotée d’ouverture d’esprit. Je vois le jazz comme une musique d’action et, pour cette raison, liée à l’époque que nous vivons. Dans notre pays, il existe une forte tradition musicale. Les gens aiment la musique et recherchent constamment des choses nouvelles. Ils aiment découvrir.

Comment décririez-vous le panorama du Jazz au Portugal ?

Le jazz au Portugal a connu une remarquable évolution. De nos jours il y a beaucoup d’écoles de jazz et avec du jazz, beaucoup de musiciens sont beaucoup mieux formés qu’autrefois et le public s’intéresse à eux. Quand je dis autrefois, je pense dix ou quinze ans pas trente ou quarante. Les choses ont énormément changé en quelques années et si tout se passe bien, cela va continuer.

Existe t’il des politiques de soutient à la diffusion et à l’éducation pour le Jazz ?

Non. Mais il y a de nombreuses personnes dans le circuit qui contribuent, d’une façon ou d’une autre, à la diffusion du Jazz au Portugal. Nous avons un excellent magazine spécialisé, Jazz.pt, plusieurs maisons de disques qui mettent sur le marché du jazz et des musiques improvisées (Clean Feed, Creative Sources and Tone of a Pitch), de nombreux festivals, dont quelqu’uns sont parmi les plus intéressants au monde (Jazz em Agosto) et il y a toujours de la place dans les journaux généralistes nationaux.

Est-ce que Trem Azul est soutenu financièrement par le Ministère de la Culture ou autre ?

Non.

Au Portugal il y a plusieurs festivals connus internationalement et également de petits événements organisés ponctuellement, lesquels recommanderiez-vous au public étranger ?

Lesquels ont les meilleures programmations ? Le Jazz em Agosto de la Fondation Calouste Gulbekian à Lisbonne est le meilleur point de chute. Arès cela, il y a également plusieurs festivals d’un excellent niveau, tels que Braga Jazz, Seixal Jazz, Jazz ao Centro, Jazz in Coimbra, Jazz in Portalegre, Jazz in Guimaràes…

Selon vous, quelle est la contribution du Hot Club Portugal au panorama du jazz portuguais ?

Le Hot Club a deux activités, le club et l’école. Le club a un rôle essentiel, c’est l’un des quelques endroits où vous pouvez couter du jazz chaque semaine, avec un programme diversifié. L’école subit des difficultés liées à l’apparition de nouvelles structures, plus dynamiques, c’est une honte, car cela peut conduire à la fermeture de la plus importante école de jazz de pays, historiquement.

Quels sont les jeunes musiciens Portugais que vous voudriez signaler ?

Ces dernières années, sont apparus plusieurs musiciens de jazz qui étudient au Portugal (l’ESMAE de Porto fait un travail repmarquable) et d’autres qui vont à l’étranger, avec une obsession des écoles américaines (New School et Berklee), mais maintenant il semble que cela change et les écoles européennes (Bruxelles, Amsterdam, et particulièrement Rotterdam) ont gagné en poids et forment de nombreux musiciens intéressants : João Lobo, Gonçalo Almeida, Dezidério Lázaro, Júlio Resende, João Firmino, João Hasselberg, Luís Candeias, António Quintino, José Pedro Coelho, João Guimarães, Luís Figueiredo sont quelques-uns de ceux qui vont faire évoluer le jazz au Portugal.

Quels sont les musiciens portugais les plus importants selon vous ?

Les géants du jazz portugais sont Bernardo Sassetti, Mário Laginha, Carlos Barretto, João Paulo Esteves, Maria João, Carlos Martins, Carlos Bica et plus récemment André Fernandes, Júlio Resende, Nelson Cascais.

Propos recueillis par Isabel Viegas en juin 2009

www.cleanfeed-records.com

d português english