Kalle Kalima

Do you know Kalle Kalima ? This finnish guitarist is a very active member of jazz in Berlin. He played two years ago in Reims with the amazing trio Johnny La Marama. A few questions are indispensable...

You studied first piano, then you choose guitar. Why did you choose this instrument ?

I was twelve and got very interested in Beatles and Pink Floyd. I thought electric guitar was cool and I still do.

You are now leaving in Berlin I think. Why did you left Finland and choose Berlin ?

I first came in Berlin 1998 as an exchange student to study at the Hanns Eisler Music University. I went a lot to jam sessions and concerts on that year and realised that the scene in Berlin is very interesting. A lot of interesting creative music, improvisers, noise rock, electro pop. And besides music there is loads to see. Berlin has become a sexy city for artists also because it is cheap to live here.

You recorded with french guitarist Marc Ducret : can you tell us more about this experience and about the music of Marc ?

I had a chance to open up for Marc's trio on a small tour in Finnland in 2000 with my group Nuijamiehet. I was already a fan of his but to hear him 5 nights in a row was great. He has a unique way on the instrument. I asked him to join my Trio in Studio for 5 tunes and he somehow fitted our group perfectly. I thought having two guitars would be interesting and the Cd got nice reviews.

You came in Reims for a concert two years ago. I was also here. And at the end of the concert I heard two guys talking together and saying something like "Johnny La Marama is a kind of little brother of Fred Frith Massacre". What do you think about that ?

I think that is a fine compliment. Although I´d like to know more Fred´s music what I have heard I have enjoyed. We have now a new album "Fire" out with Johnny La Marama (Have you heard it ?) and I think we are now going even deeper in our own musical world which is strange mixture of free elements, hip hop, kraut rock and jazz.

What is the part of jazz influence in your music : how do you feel about jazz history / legacy ?

Well, I got a proper jazz education in Sibelius academy and at Hanns Eisler in Berlin. During the years of studing I was playing a lot of mainstream jazz gigs. I think learning that music is good base for a improviser in creative music scene but it is not enough alone. I just played on a project with Anthony Braxton in Finland with finnish musicians and there were fine improvisers from a classical background in this project. It is important to respect the tradition but if you conserve music and restrict its developement it is going to die and this has happened to lot of so called jazz music as we know it. I think my music is coming from jazz but is not only jazz. It has also other sources: rock, new music, world music... I would call my music "avant groove music" or "creative music" or "apples not oranges - music". This words are all problematic, you know.

In which way improvisation (in music) can influence your way of living : I mean, improvisation could be a philosophy of live....

I think improvising as philosophy can be seen as a way trying to seize the moment. Improviser is living in the present time. If he is a good improviser he can remember some past and see a little bit in the future but it is usually close to the present time. That is the strength there but sometimes also the weakness. I think music can be truly great if improvised and composed elements are combined in a balanced and flowing way. I think almost all the people and for sure all the children can improvise.

Can you tell us more about Momentum Impakto and about your collaboration with Daniel Erdmann ?

We started this trio with John Schröder in 1999. It is a very special group where a lot is left to spontaneity. We try to avoid over intelluctal concepts and just play and have fun. I think the group has a very unique raw sound. Unfortunally the group hasn´t been able to perform a lot because it is not free jazz, mainstream jazz or jazz rock and a lot of venues find it somehow not fitting. The two cds we made have some cult fans, though. I played with Daniel in some other projets (Chritoph Studer' s Heidi´s Bouillie with Linda Sharrock) and it is always great with him because he is a fine communicator as a musician.

Have you ever think to leave Berlin for New York like Chris Dahlgren ?

Well actually Chris left New York and moved to Berlin... That is the trend anyway. A lot of musicians are coming to Berlin because it is uprising city for music. I think New York has great history but the things I´ve experinced with america lately are not inviting. I think the whole country is going in bad direction. I lived there 1990-1991 and thought that 2004 things have gotten worse when I toured there.

Next projects ? Next recordings ?

My group Klima Kalima is working on a new cd that is coming out in the fall. I´m also working on a solo cd with only guitar (but sometimes layers of them). These things will keep me busy. I´m playing in France with Jimi Tenor in the fall (16.11, Paris).

Interview by Jean Delestrade

www.kallekalima.com

Kalle Kalima

Connaissez-vous Kalle Kalima ? Ce guitariste finlandais est un des très actifs membres de la scène Berlinoise. Entendu voilà deux ans au Reims Jazz Festival avec sa formation Johnny La Marama, un éclairage sur ce musicien enthousiasmant devenait indispensable.

Tu as étudié le piano pour choisir ensuite la guitare. Pourquoi cet instrument ?

J'avais 12 ans et j'étais très branché par les Beatles et les Pink Floyd. Je me suis dit que la guitare électrique était cool, je le pense toujours d'ailleurs.

Tu habites à Berlin. Pourquoi avoir quitté la Finlande pour cette ville ?

La première fois que je suis venu à Berlin, c'était en 1998 dans le cadre d'un échange scolaire et j'ai ainsi étudié à la Hanns Eisler Music University. J'ai traîné dans les jam sessions, j'ai assisté à beaucoup de concerts et je me suis rendu compte que la scène berlinoise était vraiment très intéressante. De la musique créative, de l'improvisation, du noise rock, de l'électro pop. Berlin est une ville attirante pour les artistes surtout parce qu'il n'est pas très cher d'y vivre.

Tu as enregistré avec le guitariste Marc Ducret : peux-tu m'en dire un peu plus sur cette expérience et sur la musique de Marc Ducret ?

J'ai eu la chance de faire la première partie du trio de Marc avec mon groupe Nuijamiehet lors d'une tournée en Finlande en 2000. J'étais déjà un fan de son travail, mais pouvoir l'écouter cinq soirs de suite ça a été terrible. Il est unique dans sa façon d'envisager l'instrument. Je lui ai demandé de se joindre à mon groupe en studio pour enregistrer cinq morceaux et il s'est parfaitement intégré dans le groupe. Je pensais qu'il serait intéressant d'avoir deux guitares sur ce disque, et au final ça rend super !

Le trio Johnny La Marama est une sorte de petit frère de Massacre de Fred Frith ?

C'est un compliment. J'aimerais mieux connaître la musique de Fred Frith, j'ai adoré ce que j'ai écouté. On vient de sortir un nouvel album "Fire" et nous allons puiser encore plus loin dans nos univers musicaux avec un étrange mélange entre free, hip-hop, krautrock et jazz.

Quelle est la part du jazz dans ton travail ? Quel est ton ressenti par rapport à un certain héritage du jazz ?

Et bien, je me suis "éduqué" au jazz à la Sibelus Academy et à la Hanns Eisler Music University. Pendant ces années d'études, j'ai beaucoup joué de jazz mainstream. Je me dis qu'avoir travaillé tout ça a été une bonne base pour l'improvisation et pour créer de la musique, mais ça ne suffit pas. J'ai d'ailleurs participé à un projet d'Anthony Braxton en Finlande avec des musiciens finlandais, de très bons musiciens avec un grand savoir théorique... Il est important de respecter l'histoire du jazz, mais si tu te contentes de l'entretenir tel quel et de ne pas participer à son évolution, il arrive ce qui doit arriver, c'est à dire ce que l'on appelle le "jazz" aujourd'hui. Je pense que ma musique vient du jazz mais pas seulement. Il est aussi question de rock, de world... Si je devais donner un nom à ma musique, je dirais "avant groove music" ou "creative music" ou "apples not oranges - music" (sic).

De quelle manière l'improvisation dans la musique peut influencer ta façon de vivre au jour le jour ?

Penser l'improvisation comme une philosophie, c'est essayer de mesurer l'instant. Improviser c'est vivre l'instant présent. Si tu es un bon improvisateur, tu peux utiliser le passé et envisager le futur, mais surtout être enfermé dans le moment présent. C'est une force mais aussi une faiblesse. Je pense que la musique peut être vraiment très grande si les notions d'improvisation et de composition sont combinés et équilibrés. Tout le monde, même les enfants, peuvent improviser.

Peux-tu nous en dire plus sur le projet Momentum Impakto et ta collaboration avec Daniel Erdmann ?

Ce trio est né avec John Schröder en 1999. C'est un groupe vraiment spécial qui laisse une grande place à la spontanéité, en essayant de dépasser les considérations intellectuelles et jouer pour le plaisir. Nous avons un son vraiment à part. Malheureusement, nous n'avons pas beaucoup tourné avec ce groupe, parce que ce n'est pas du free, du mainstream ou du jazz rock... Les deux disques que nous avons enregistré ont sûrement des fans, je pense. J'ai joué avec Daniel dans d'autres projets (Christoph Struders Heidi's Bouille avec Linda Sharrock) et c'est toujours agréable de jouer avec lui parce qu'il a un grand sens de la communication musicale.

As-tu déjà pensé quitter Berlin pour Brooklyn comme Chris Dahlgren (bassiste de Johnny La Marama) ?

Pour tout dire, Chris a quitté New York pour Berlin... Et c'est la tendance du moment. Beaucoup de musiciens viennent vivre à Berlin parce que c'est la nouvelle ville montante pour la musique. Je pense que New York a fait beaucoup pour l'histoire du jazz, mais les choses que j'y ai expérimentées ne sont pas très attirantes. Je pense qu'ils vont dans la mauvaise direction. J'y ai vécu en 90-91 et je pense que les événements de 2004 ont rendu les choses pire.

Les prochains projets ? Des enregistrements ?

Avec le groupe Klima Kalima, on bosse sur un nouveau disque qui doit sortir bientôt. Je travaille aussi sur un disque solo de guitare. Je suis donc occupé. Et je joue en France avec Jimi Tenor le 16 novembre.

Entretien réalisé par Jean Delestrade

www.kallekalima.com