Gary Hassay

Alto saxophone & throat singing.

Gary Hassay came to my attention from the album Blackwater Bridge on Drimala records, featuring harpist Anne Lebaron. I was fascinated by the percussive sound of Hassay’s alto saxophone, which I thought was primitive and sophisticated at the same time.

Gary Hassay has been performing since 1979 with various groups, both as a leader and a sideman. His large ensemble, "Dr. Vincent Sakeeda's Attack Ensemble", founded in 1979, was a tour de force of free music which drew critical and public attention. Mr. Hassay has performed with musicians from throughout the world and is the President and a founding member of improvisationalmusicco., inc. (improvco), a not-for-profit corporation based in Allentown, Pa.

A solo album entitled "A Survivor's Smile" was released on the Dbops Music label in November, 1996. A beautiful recording Gary made for his wife Pamela while she was recovering from a grave illness.

In 1999 "Another Shining Path" was released on Drimala Records and received qualifications for Grammy awards in four categories. In March, 2002 Drimala Records released a duo cd "Blackwater Bridge" featuring harpist Anne LeBaron. Blackwater Bridge made the Grammy ballot in two different jazz instrumental categories, and has almost completely sold out. In late 2004 the new cd titled “Tribute To Paradise” with Gary Hassay and Ellen Christi was released on Drimala Records. “Tribute” is Gary Hassay's debut as a Tibetan style throat singer, and the disc is selling well while receiving great reviews. Dbops Music released a limited edition cd (alto sax/violin) entitled "Dbops Pollittics" in June, 2001.

"The New Lounge", is the name of one of Hassay's current musical projects (as,dm,gui). Another current project is a trio with pianist Dan De Chellis and percussionist Tatsuya Nakatani.

Hassay cites among his formative influences Hungarian Gypsy violin music, R&B/soul music, Albert Ayler, Jimi Hendrix, Peter Brötzmann and Evan Parker.

He has performed with musicians from throughout the world including Fred Frith, Andrew Cyrille, Gerry Hemingway, Anne LeBaron, Peter Broetzmann, William Parker, Tom Cora, Wadada Leo Smith, George Cartwright, Milford Graves, Paul Rogers, Jin Hi Kim, Toshi Makihara, Wittwulf Malik, Harry Beckett, Ellen Christi, Lenny Seidman, Chris Cochrane, Masahiko Kono, Davey Williams, LaDonna Smith, Keshavan Maslak, Michael Lytle, David Moss, Butch Morris, Jim Sauter, Don Dietrich, Donald Miller, Lukas Ligeti, Tatsuya Nakatani, Dan DeCellis, Evan Lipson, Helena Espvall-Santoleri, George Cremaschi, Douglas Ovens, Stanley Schumacher, and Soviet musicians Vyacheslav Gayvoronsky and Vladimir Volkov.

Taran Singh

What critics says :

A Survivor’s Smile

Those unfamiliar with improv sax should use this as a starting point, because it has some of the best aural paintings I've heard in several years, truly music to your ears ! Rotcod Zzaj - The Improviser

Blackwater Bridge

Gary Hassay alto saxophone, Anne LeBaron harp & percussions, Harry Bertoia sound sculpture

Gary Hassay and Anne LeBaron perform a series of intimate and unpredictable duets on Blackwater Bridge. LeBaron's extended techniques on harp yield a unique repertory of buzzes, hisses, and drones along with the more usual strums and plucking sounds, an imaginative complement to Hassay's fervent yet controlled alto saxophone. Very intriguing and rewarding listening. Stuart Kremsky - IAJRC Journal Winter

Tribute to Paradise

Gary Hassay alto saxophone & Ellen Christi voice

Christi shows great versatility using mouth noises on "Mystery Within" and building to almost operatic intervallic leaps. "From the Beginning" is an excursion into long tones and "Anodyne" is an overdubbed tour-de-force that sounds like a virtual Hi-Los singing Ligeti. Hassay joins her on vocals on this cut and drops in a little throat singing, to startling effect. A richly satisfying effort that's just right in every way. John Chacona - Signal To Noise

www.garyhassay.com

en français

Gary Hassay

Saxophone alto & chant de gorge Tibétain.

J’ai découvert Gary Hassay avec l’album “Blackwater Bridge” sur Drimala Records, avec la harpiste Anne Lebaron. J’étais fasciné par le son de saxophone alto, que je trouvais à la fois primitif et sophistiqué.

Gary Hassay se produit depuis 1979 avec différentes formations, certaines en tant qu’accompagnateur et d’autres qu’il dirige. Son grand orchestre, “Dr Vincent Sadeeka’s attak Ensemble”, créé en 1979, est un tour de force de le “free music”, qui a attiré l’attention de la critique et du public.  M. Hassay s’est produit avec des musiciens du monde entier et il est le Président et un des membres fondateurs de “improvisationalmusicco, inc”(improvco), une association à but non lucratif basée à Allentown en Pennsylvanie.

Son album solo intitulé “A survivor’s smile” a été réalisé pour le label Dbops Music en novembre 1996. Un enregistrement magnifique que Gary a dédié à sa femme Pamela, alors en convalescence suite à une grave maladie.

En 1999, “Another Shining Path”, produit par Drimala Records, a reçu des distinctions lors des Grammy Awards dans quatre categories. En mars 2002, Drimala Records a publié le duo avec la harpiste Anne LeBaron “Blackwater Bridge”. Cette album, enregistré en Allemagne a été élu dans deux categories de jazz instrumental des “Grammy” et a vite été épuisé. Fin 2004, un nouvel album intitulé “Tribute to Paradise” avec Gary Hassay et Ellen Christi, marque les débuts de Gary dans le chant de gorge tibétain, Il s’est bien vendu et a été accompagné d'articles de presse élogieux. Dbops a ensuite publié un album intitulé “dbops Politics” en juin 2001 (duo sax alto / violon).

“The new lounge” est le nom d'un des projets réguliers de Gary Hassay (sax alto / batterie / guitare). Un autre de ces projets est un trio avec le pianiste Dan De Chellis et le percussioniste Tatsuya Nakatami.

Gary Hassay cite comme ses influences principales le violon Tzigane Hongrois, le R&B, la Soul Music, Albert Ayler, Jimi Hendrix, Peter Brötzmann et Evan Parker.

Il a joué avec des musiciens dans le monde entier, dont Fred Frith, Andrew Cyrille, Gerry Hemingway, Anne LeBaron, Peter Brötzmann, William Parker, Tom Cora, Wadada Leo Smith, George Cartwright, Milford Graves, Paul Rogers, Jin Hi Kim, Toshi Makihara, Wittwulf Malik, Harry Beckett, Ellen Christi, Lenny Seidman, Chris Cochrane, Masahiko Kono, Davey Williams, LaDonna Smith, Keshavan Maslak, Michael Lytle, David Moss, Butch Morris, Jim Sauter, Don Dietrich, Donald Miller, Lukas Ligeti, Tatsuya Nakatani, Dan DeCellis, Evan Lipson, Helena Espvall-Santoleri, George Cremaschi, Douglas Ovens, Stanley Schumacher, and Soviet musicians Vyacheslav Gayvoronsky et Vladimir Volkov.

Taran Singh

Ce que les critiques en disent :

A Survivor’s Smile

Ceux qui ne sont pas familiers du saxophone solo improvisé devraient utiliser ce disque comme un point de depart, car c’est l’une des plus belles oeuvres musicales que j’ai entendu depuis plusieurs années, de la vraie musique pour vos oreilles ! Ce disque doit être hautement recommandé à toutes les âmes aventureuses ! Rotcod Zzaj - The Improviser

Blackwater Bridge

Gary Hassay saxophone alto, Anne LeBaron harpe & percussions, Harry Bertoia sculpture sonore

Gary Hassay et Anne LeBaron ont réalisé une série de duos intimistes et imprévisibles sur "Blackwater Bridge". La technique étendue de LeBaron apporte un répertoire unique de bourdonnements, sifflements, ajoutés aux raclements plus habituels, qui complètent le jeu de saxophone ardent et contrôlé de Gary Hassay. Une musique dont l'écoute intrigue et enrichi. Stuart Kremsky - IAJRC Journal Winter

Ye Ren : Another Shining Path

Gary Hassay saxophone alto, William Parker basse, Toshi Makihara batterie & percussions

Objet mystérieux et déroutant, le disque de Ye Ren (le nom sans signification du groupe est décidé lui aussi de façon improvisée) s'écarte vertigineusement des normes de l'industrie musicale et nous démontre qu'au confluent de l'improvisation et de la passion se cache un territoire sacré, une mer intérieure où les courants peuvent être plus forts que dans les océans du quotidien. Cette "autre voie brillante" ne s'ouvrira probablement pas au plus grand nombre mais s'impose comme une curiosité essentielle pour les oreilles curieuses. Michael Lellouche - Le Jazz

Tribute to Paradise

Gary Hassay saxophone alto & Ellen Christi chant

Christi montre sa grande polyvalence avec des bruits de bouche sur “"Mystery Within" et en utilisant des sauts d’intervalles. “From the beginning” est une exploration de longues tonalités et “Anodyne” est un tour de force de l’overdub sur lequel Hassay la rejoint avec la voix avant de finir sur un faible chant de gorge. Un disque riche et satisfaisant, juste de bout en bout. John Chacona - Signal To Noise

www.garyhassay.com

english here